The Unexpected Baptism

My dearest lovely people,

This week was absolutely incredible! I love being a missionary! I can’t even describe how much I love it. The people here in Suriname have stolen my heart and taught me so many life lessons.

So as you can read from the subject line, Sister Vernes and I had an unexpected baptism. Last week in my email I wrote how a couple of our investigators bore their testimonies in Sacrament meeting. Well, one of them was Shevello. He is ten years old and has been coming to church for a couple years with his older siblings who are baptized. He was not allowed to be baptized with them because he had some temper problems. He has asked us multiple times when he can get baptized, but we told him his mom probably wouldn’t allow it. After he bore his testimony on Sunday we knew he was serious, and we decided to talk to his mom. It was an absolute miracle! She said yes! Since he has come to church for a long time and we have taught him all the lessons he was able to be baptized this week. Talk about a good way to end the transfer! 

Sister Vernes and I will be together for a transfer 4! We are super excited. We were so worried about being split! What adventures are waiting for us in these next six weeks? 

Another miracle that happened this week is that we were able to reactivate 3 of the inactives we have been working with for a while. The branch was so welcoming to them, and I hope they don’t fall away again! 

Anyways, I am so happy to hear from you all this week. I love you to death! XOXO 

Lobi,

Zuster Jorgensen

This week was a whole lot less crazy. We actually got to teach in our own area! Yay! Also, we were blessed to receive a senior couple here in Suriname. The Crawfords came the same time Zr Vernes got back from her visa adventure, and they are amazing! They already made us brownies and cookies. We haven’t been this spoiled since the MTC. They are the nicest people ever. They are from California, but moved to Boise Idaho right before they came. They have had to jump into the mission with both feet and start swimming immediately. We are so happy we have them. On Tuesday night we were biking home in the rain. My chain decided to fall off and get completely tangled. We were stranded on a dark dirt road. We called the Crawfords, and had to give them directions to find us. While we waited we went by this one house that had an outside light. We really freaked out the people inside because we were just standing in front of their house for like half an hour. Luckily the Crawfords found it, and my bike was fixed the next day. 

Also on Tuesday I ate a super super hot pepper. Ouch. I was crying and the lady who gave it to me was very impressed and kept calling me a strong sister. Oh why thank you! I try. But seriously, that thing caused some damage. She also made me eat a spoonful of sugar to help the heat go away. It tasted delicious though! I will probably do that again. 

So, mom, you asked about that old man. His name is Br. Wijngaarde. He is soooo cute! I love him so much. The other day we were at his house and we had him pray. He started his prayer by saying (goedenmiddaag Hemelse Vader) Good day Heavenly Father. Why dont we start prayers like that? Oh man. He is so cute. 

On Saturday night we had a really spiritual lesson with a less active and his girlfriend. They are the cutest couple. We talked about Heavenly Father and his love for us. By the end of the lesson they both committed themselves to come to church. They are some of my favorite people to teach. On Sunday Jaymian, the boyfriend, came! It was so great. He ran out of time, so he could not pick up his girlfriend, but next week! 

Sunday was fun. Two of our investigators bore their testimonies. They have both come so far. I am excited for when they are able to be baptized into the church. I love working in Kwatta. Hopefully I am here next transfer. If not I guess I will be in Rainville again, so that would also be a lot of fun. I do feel like my work is finally starting to pay off in this area though. I would hate to leave these people right when they are making these steps! 

Anyways, I hope you have a great week. Eat some yummy bbq food and watch some cool fireworks. Meanwhile we are hanging a flag at the church and singing the national anthem in the rain! It is a good time!

Lobi,

Zr Jorgensen 

Leave a Reply

