Last Week in the MTC

Pinata

BEST WEEK IN THE MTC SO FAR! There is so much to say that I don’t even know where to begin…. Um.. Oh! The package. Well that was an interesting surprise to say the least. My whole zone gathered into our tiny little classroom and all the elders came up will ways to destroy the pinata. Um I will send a picture of some of their ideas. They were pretty great! What we ended up doing was the elders stabbed it and pulled out all the candy and then they had me curb stomp it. That poor pirate did not know what was coming! They completely destroyed him. I will send a picture of the final product too. The face you drew was a very nice touch! Haha I have the best family.

On Friday we got our flight plans. We leave the MTC Monday morning at 3:30 am. Yep. Our flight leaves for Houston at 7:55 am, so be expecting a call at around 6:00 am. We get to the Houston airport and we will have to rush to make our flight to Trinidad! Woot woot! We basically don’t even have a layover. Our total flight time should be around 7 hours, which isn’t bad at all considering some people in my zone travel for 2 full days. We will spend the night at the mission home in Trinidad and then once we get assigned we will fly out to whatever country we are assigned to. (Most likely Suriname) I cannot wait! 
On Saturday we had some interesting adventures. To start the day off Zuster Ashcraft decided to pass out on me. We were getting ready for breakfast and she walked in the room and ran into the wall hit the desk and fell onto the ground. The whole time I was just freaking out. Man that was scary, but the second she woke up we just laughed for like 10 minutes and that was that. I made her drink a lot of water that day. 
We had an amazing lesson from Broeder Norton. It was his last time teaching us. SUCH A SAD DAY. We discussed justice and the atonement. I had never really looked at the atonement from the justice point of view. If God was not completely just, He would not be God. We all sin and through that we become unclean. No unclean thing can enter God’s presence. He loves us, but he would not be God if he let us become exalted and we weren’t clean. That is why we need Jesus Christ. Without Jesus Christ this would not be a plan of happiness. This would be the plan of sadness. The Atonement = Hope. “The price is paid, the sinner is saved.” Through this we also learned that we must learn to love our weaknesses. Our weaknesses keep us humble and bring us closer to Christ. We read about Paul in 2 Corinthians 12. He speaks of how he asked God to take his weakness from him, but God taught him that it is through his weakness that he draws on Christ and learns to follow him. That is pretty universe shattering to me. 
So, I have decided it is a really good thing that I can laugh at myself. Some dutch words sound scary alike and they mean completely different things. For Example Kos (chose) and Kas (cheese). Ya… I told my investigators that people cheese not to follow the gospel, so it was taken from the earth. I may have broken my investigator with that one. When I say that I mean they get out of character, so they become our teachers instead of our investigators. Earlier that day, I may have told my investigator that heterosexual relationships were bad. Ya, I broke my investigator then too. We all laughed for like a minute then we just hopped back into the lesson. Het speit mij. 
Last Wednesday after I wrote my email I went to the temple with Zuster Ashcraft and I still can’t believe how much peace it brought me. I had a lot on my mind, and I was praying about it. Want to know the answer I received? “Forget yourself and go to work.” So that is what I have done this week. That is why this week has been incredible. I have felt so much peace. I also received many confirmations that serving a mission was the right choice for me. I look back, and I know it has only been six weeks, but I know that I would have been missed out big time if I hadn’t come. Before I came the gospel was number one. I wouldn’t have come if it wasn’t, but now it means more. I realized that I have taken this gospel for granted. Who would I be without the gospel. Definitely not the same person. 
So here is the best part of the week. Drum roll please! Our devotional speaker last night was Russel M. Nelson. It was his first time speaking since he has become President of the Quorum of the 12. The second he walked in the room a wave of the spirit hit me full force. I am so grateful that I was able to be in the presence of someone who has such a profound spirit about him. I sang in the choir, and we sang “Be Still My Soul”. We took it a different way though. We were singing to try to help comfort him and give him peace about the huge responsibility that is now on his shoulders. He talked about how God’s goals have not changed. He glories in our exaltation. Through the mission age change, not only are more people being brought to the gospel, but more people are becoming endowed at a younger age. More people are in the position to be sealed, which is the gate to exaltation. I never thought about it like that. It was amazing to be part of history. 
On Monday all of the elders in my zone that arrived on the same day as me left. For some reason Trinidad missionaries stay a week longer? Even the other dutchies are only here for 6 weeks. Anyways, so we said all of our goodbyes on Sunday night. On Monday night we were studying in our classroom, and there was a knock at the door. It then opens and in come the Norwegians. I never thought I would see them again! I seriously thought this exact thing “I have lost it. I have been in the MTC too long. I am seeing things.” I guess their flight out of Salt Lake was delayed which would have made them miss all of their connecting flights. Poor things! They had to come back to the MTC. That would be so depressing! They were supposed to fly out the next day, so they rode trax up to the airport again, and guess what. Their flight was cancelled again. They had to come back to the MTC twice! Hahahaha! I really hope that doesn’t happen to me. All the other dutchies are trying to curse our district that we will be in the MTC forever. THAT IS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN. 
Anyways, next time I email I will be in another country! Love you all! 
Leave a Reply

